Book review: Every Day

Every DayAuthor: David Levithan

Pages: 384

Year of publishing: 2012

Rating: ★★★✩✩

Related Posts: Will Grayson, Will Grayson (Author)The Lover’s Dictionary (Author)

Synopsis: Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

Every morning, A wakes in a different person’s body, a different person’s life. There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere. 

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone to be with – day in, day out, day after day.

With his new novel, David Levithan has pushed himself to new creative heights. He has written a captivating story that will fascinate readers as they begin to comprehend the complexities of life and love in A’s world, as A and Rhiannon seek to discover if you can truly love someone who is destined to change every day.

My review: Finally I found the David Levithan’s book that I really wanted find. I knew that among all his books I would like too much at least one of them. As you know, he is known for his prose but the plot of his books never convinced me at all, but this book is the most original that I’ve read of him.

Our protagonist is named A, David Levithan doesn’t give us more information about him and for that it’s difficult to empathize with him at beginning. After 30 pages it’s when I really started to enjoy the book because I began to understand it. A enjoys every day in a different way because every day is a different person. Maybe a girl who wants to commit suicide, or a boy known as “the perfect son” for his behaviour. Only exists one rule in his life: He mustn’t attract attention or he will suffer the consequences.

The first day he meets Rhyannon, the second protagonist of this Story. I didn’t like her, for me she wasn’t so incredible as he thinks along the story. He said that she was perfect because she was wearing a pair of converse with a buildings design and she seemed shy, however I really didn’t liker her. How she allows to her boyfriend treat her like that? I wouldn’t.

As you know, it’s a love story, but too fast and I didn’t like it. In the first chapter, he was already in love with her, love at first sight… And I prefer the loves that are created slowly.

As the story progresses I felt more curiosity about the end, it’s not a story easy to end and anything could happen, but one more time, David Levithan give us a good lesson at end.

I found a book full of reflections which amazed me. For me, read Every day have been a different experience. It makes you think about the perspective that we use to see the different days of our life and how we should face each new day. He explains you what he thinks about love and tells the consequences that it brings to his life. How something so simply like talk, for him could bring terrible consequences?

As usual in David Levithan’s books, we can find some beautiful quotes along the book, I enjoyed the story but I felt bored in some parts too, I think it would have been nice a more detailed explanation about why A changes his body every day.

My valuation for this book it’s 3/5. The second part of this book was released recently and I will read it, I think it will be better than this first part. If you want to know what I’m reading now and my future reads, you can find me in Goodreads.

Goodreads profile

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and if you like this post, share it in your social networks. Thank you so much!

See you!

Written by: Ana

Leave a Reply

