Book Review: Point of Retreat (Slammed#2)

pointAuthor: Colleen Hoover

Pages: 215

Year of Publishing: 2012

Rating: ★★✩✩✩

Related Posts: Slammed (First part)

Synopsis: Hardships and heartache brought them together… now it will tear them apart.
Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.

Review: If you have not read the first book, I recommend you read the first book because of you will not know as finished another book.

Slammed was a great discovery for me, Point of Retreat has been a great disappointment to me. I started reading this book with great expectations and ended the book thinking ‘this hasn’t been written by Colleen Hoover’.

Layken makes stupid questions like ‘if your parents had not died, would we be together?’. Maybe yes or maybe not. The situations that we live each day gradually create our personality if Will would haven’t lived those moments would be different. But the reality is that his parents died as the parents of Layken. It’s like saying ‘if I live in another city, we would be together? Maybe yes and maybe no. Layken showed immaturity in this second part of the trilogy, like a little girl looking for things to be sad all the time. Also it seemed very resentful while she mimics to Will, when he did not want a relationship with her.

Will in this book also disappointed me, was very childish because he followed the game. I wanted to prove all the time that are together for what they are and not for what they have experienced in their life. How I already said our experiences do our personality.

“Love is the most beautiful thing in the world. Unfortunately, it’s also one of the hardest things in the world to hold on to, and one of the easiest things to throw away.” Will.

papelThe mother of Layken, Julia, is my favorite character even after her death. Leave little tips for when they need it and are precious advice. She used her phrases and famous sentences and this written them into paper stars. Julia’s phrases served to me as tips when I need help, it’s the kind of person that everyone should meet.

Regarding how to write Colleen Hoover seemed to me very boring and simple. I felt I was reading another writer because it does not look anything like the first book. Only keeps the sweetness of Julia, the other characters has changed, it seems even another book. The positive point is that the Spanish people with a medium level as me of English can read this book because is easy to read. The truth is that I doubt that you read the next book in the trilogy because it has disappointed me greatly.

Regarding to the end is a boring end, something anyone would expect. The first book made me mourn when I finished, the opposite of this book. I waited until the last page for that something unexpected happen but it disappointed me. You can’t expect anything amazing about this book.

This book does not deserve more than 2/5 because I entertained but not a book I would recommend and I not read it again. If you read the third part of the book, writes your opinions in the comments to decide to read or not read it.

If you like this post, share it in your social networks and don’t forget to follow us on our social networks. Thank you so much!

See you!

Written by: Ana

One thought on “Book Review: Point of Retreat (Slammed#2)

Leave a Reply

