Book Review: After

afterAuthor:  Anna Todd

Pages: 582

Year of publishing: 2014

Rating: ★✩✩✩✩

Related posts: –

Synopsis: Tessa is a good girl with a sweet, reliable boyfriend back home. She’s got direction, ambition, and a mother who’s intent on keeping her that way.
But she’s barely moved into her freshman dorm when she runs into Hardin. With his tousled brown hair, cocky British accent, tattoos, and lip ring, Hardin is cute and different from what she’s used to.
 But he’s also rude—to the point of cruelty, even. For all his attitude, Tessashould hate Hardin. And she does—until she finds herself alone with him in his room. Something about his dark mood grabs her, and when they kiss it ignites within her a passion she’s never known before.
He’ll call her beautiful, then insist he isn’t the one for her and disappear again and again. Despite the reckless way he treats her, Tessa is compelled to dig deeper and find the real Hardin beneath all his lies. He pushes her away again and again, yet every time she pushes back, he only pulls her in deeper.
Tessa already has the perfect boyfriend. So why is she trying so hard to overcome her own hurt pride and Hardin’s prejudice about nice girls like her?
Unless…could this be love?
Now newly revised and expanded, Anna Todd’s After fanfiction racked up 1 billion reads online and captivated readers across the globe. Experience the Internet’s most talked-about book for yourself!
There was the time before Tessa met Hardin, and then there’s everything AFTER … Life will never be the same.

Review: In my last book read (Slammed) I cried with happiness when I finished reading because the story are very nice for me. With After I shouted when I finished but for fear. I think it’s the worst book I’ve read this year and in my life. Surely this is a different review to which you are accustomed to reading because I really don’t find anything good in this book. I hope you do not judge me by this opinion so different.

To begin the plot is simple. Tessa begins college this year and start living in a dorm away from your old and comfortable home. At home she has a conceited and aloof mother, but also a steady boyfriend called Noah. But in the residence awaits a guy full of tattoos and piercings (which the author has associated with being ‘a bad boy’) he wants to teach to Tessa new experiences.

She seemed to be a horrible character, no personality, plain and boring. And Hardin… He was the worst of the book is prepotent manipulative and very sexist. Why he seemed sexist? Because throughout the book we see comments like ‘I can only see these jeans because is very provocative’ or ‘you’re mine alone’. If we hear it on the street I’m sure many would say ‘this is abuse’ and many people call the police to put things in order. But no. Here it seems normal and even sexy in the character… It is regrettable for me. As I know I will not read more books of this saga, I searched about the other books in the internet and read that Hardin prohibits to Tessa see a friend out of jealousy. Ie, he prohibited to Tessa wear some clothes, he believed to be his property and he separates Tessa from her friends … Are you sure it’s love? I don’t think so. I read the book fairly quickly (in one day) because I expected to reaction from Tessa about Hardin but she did not. She not reaction from his sexist comments.

The book has themes about the sex all the time. Throughout the book there are tens of sexual scenes and always is the same. They discussed, she forgives him because he puts a good face, has sex and then return to start. Apart from my opinion about the characters, I don’t liked this book because this circle vicious is bored.

I think these books greatly influence to young people who are making their way to treat their partner and their idea about love. No one should endure these comments and nobody has the right to make similar comments.

The book is written in a different way than the books that I’m used to read because it is a Fan Fiction. As many of you know this was written in wattpad (platform on which you can write your stories) and was very successful so decided to publish this story on paper. The success was because the protagonist was really Harry of One Direction but you can read the book without being a fan of them because it has nothing to do. I am not a fan and perfectly understood the story.

The end in my opinion is absurd and surreal but it’s very different, you don’t can imagine the end until you read it. Yet it is incomprehensible if you analyze everything that happened.

My valuation is a 1/5 for this book. Definitely I do not recommend it at all. You can comment here down if you agree with me or if you have a different perspective on this book. It is a complicated book to me so I’m looking forward to reading your opinions.

See you!

Written by: Ana

Leave a Reply

