Book Review: Slammed

sammedAuthor:  Colleen Hoover

Pages: 317

Year of publishing: 2012

Rating: ★★★★✩

Related posts: –

Synopsis: Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Review: OH MY GOODNESS. I don’t know why stupid reason I thought this book would not like me, but of course I was wrong. I think that this is one of my favorite books of love category. For that you may know why I think this, I will put you in a situation.

Okay, at first glance it looks like a normal story. A teenager and a teacher, there are many such cases in the world but not as this story. This story is different. No sexual encounters in the bathroom of the institute, no kisses in the corners and she not has sex with others to make him jealous. Do you know that there? Poetry and this is what makes this book so different. The protagonists flock to ‘slam’ poetry for express their feelings. For those who do not know what is poetry ‘slam’ is to go on stage and express all your feelings there before the public while judges will score you. I do not know about you but I do not usually get excited with poetry, but on a couple of occasions I was excited with this book so that means it deserves a high punctuation.

Let’s talk about the characters. Layken has eighteen years (the origin of her name is funny) is a girl who lived in Texas until her father died, after had to move with his family to Michigan because of economic problems. I identified a lot with it because I hate the superficial girls that ‘fall in love’ each week. She’s funny, independent, protective with her little brother Kel and I think pretty sweet. And then there’s Will with twenty-one and has passion for poetry. He’s sexy, funny, attentive and cares for his younger brother since their parents died… Lake can’t believe has a perfect neighbor for her, it is a hidden camera? But is not. Finally she is attracted to Will, he one day decides go with Lakee to a recital of ‘slam’ poetry and there (after he recite the story of his life) begins their wonderful story. I must clarify that they do not know that are teacher and student when begin their relationship.

When they arrive at school and they discover all, they do not know what to do but Will decides it’s better to end the relationship, he need work to care for his brother. Then is when a series of events happens the protagonist Lake, she lives very sad moments about her family but her friend Eddie is her most support.

I do not want to tell anything more about the story because everything is beautifully yarn by the author. If I contase any nonsense I discover you the end of this perfect book.

Regarding the author’s writing way I must say it’s simple in a good way, I mean, that anyone can understand what she mean, talks about a simple way. But she excited me with each new twist and with every precious phrase. If you read this book you have to read the letter from the end of the story, I mean to the Christmas letter because is beautiful with each of tips. But please do not you read it before the rest of the book because it will smash the plot and the final will not seem incredible for you. So certainly I will read more books from Colleen Hoover.

My valuation for this book is 4/5 and not a 5/5 because I would have liked more scenes of the couple.

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and if you like this post, share it in your social networks. Thank you so much!

See you!

Written by: Ana

One thought on “Book Review: Slammed

Leave a Reply

