Book Review: The Lover’s Dictionary

loversAuthor:  David Levithan

Pages: 211

Year of publishing: 2011

Rating: ★★★✩✩

Related posts: Will Grayson, Will Grayson (con John Green)

Synopsis: How does one talk about love? Is it even possible to describe something at once utterly mundane and wholly transcendent, that has the power to consume our lives completely, while making us feel part of something infinitely larger than ourselves? Taking a unique approach to this age-old problem, the nameless narrator of David Levithan’s The Lover’s Dictionary constructs the story of a relationship as a dictionary. Through these sharp entries, he provides an intimate window into the great events and quotidian trifles of coupledom, giving us an indelible and deeply moving portrait of love in our time.

Review: I recently read Will Grayson, Will Grayson a book that David Levithan wrote with John Green and although I did not like much I decided to give another chance to this author. I know many people that love to David but I do not know much about it so this book has created my opinion about this author.

The Lover’s Dictionary is a very different book to all who I have read so far. It is narrated in a very particular way. The book is like a dictionary in which he define each word as he tell a story. Here you have an example for you to understand what I say:

“brash, adj.

‘I want you to spend the night,’ you said. And it was definitely your phrasing that ensured it. If you had said, ‘Let’s have sex,’ or ‘Let’s go to my place,’ or even ‘I really want you,’ I’m not sure we would have gone quite as far as we did. But I loved the notion that the night was mine to spend, and I immediately decided to spend it on you.'”

When I read the title I thought it would be the typical love story too cloying but not was thereby. In this book we see the steps that form a relationship. First stage: illusions, expectations, happiness … A whole mix of emotions that come together in the stomach. Second stage: they discover the defects of the other person and they ask to themselves if continue together or not. Third stage: the coexistence. This  stage was the moment most difficult of the book for the couple because was the test of whether or not they should stay together. Everything is so difficult that they criticize even if they leave open the toothpaste (as the author says in the word coexistence). At no time we know how is called the narrator nor your partner because the whole book is set as if it were a letter.

I must say that on many occasions I hated the partner of narrator, there were moments when seemed very sweet and others seems unreal. In a word I do not remember right now tells a story in which ate a fly with the intention of getting rid of a boy, sincerely, I think that exist others modes get it and less disgusting. But the narrator thought that was a very funny story.

And although the book it reads very quickly the truth is that it could have been much better. I don’t have very good feeling about this author because he did not elaborate of characters, it is a very loose novel in general and at least in my country is a book very expensive for the content it have (about US $18). The book had many beautiful phrases but nothing more, is not a book I go to read for second time, I think it is only for an afternoon.

review, n.: Sometimes words can replace the feelings we have for people, places, and things. Sometimes they can’t. 

I would love to know if there are more books (of any author and category) that have been written in a way similar to this because I read it in one afternoon thanks to this curious and simple way from storytelling. If you know any book please tell me in the comments that I’d appreciate it very much.

My valuation for this book is 3/5.

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and if you like this post, share it in your social networks. Thank you so much!

See you!

Written by: Ana

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lover’s Dictionary

Leave a Reply

