Book Review: The Heir

 The HeirAuthor: Kiera Cass

Pages: 342

Year of Publishing: 2015

Rating: ★★★✩✩

Related posts: The Selection

Synopsis: Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

Review: When I heard that Kiera Cass would write two more books related to The Selection I thought they would be the typical books with the sole purpose of win more money and meaningless but surprisingly it was not. The author has made us see the selection from a different perspective, this time the selection would be for a princess and not for a prince. However not adds nothing interesting to this saga.

The first episodes show us how society live, the castes no longer exist but still there is quite a difference between social classes of people. But the book does not talk about people or they think the townspeople of this change … So as always since I started reading The selection I’ve missed political history.

When the selection starts the author presents many characters at once and is very difficult to assimilate all that information. Cass has created a new selection with new and original features and also including prior details. There are several twists in the story argumentative we do not expect and the twists break the hypothesis we have created but are not amazing and unforgettable changes. As always The Heir has been very easy to read thanks to the spelling of Cass because she tells the things directly and that’s something I like.

Eadlyn the main protagonist of the story has been my biggest disappointment, she seemed me egocentric, capricious and prepotent since he said the phrase ‘There is no one more powerful than me in all the Earth’, is a very cruel girl with others from my perspective. I understand it’s a girl who feels independent and that does not need any man to exercise of princess and do all matters requiring her power but not is a reason to humiliate the candidates. Eadlyn has a twin brother, Ahren, which is my favorite person in the entire novel. He is a staunch support to his sister to whom he loves very much and he know quite well  they mean her looks and gestures. I find he is charming, sociable and that is left wanting.

About the characters involved in this new selection, my favorites have been Kile, Henri and Hale. Especially Henri who I find adorable and has many nice gestures with the princess and transmits happiness. Kile is still finding its way in life but know that wishes freedom and Hale has done many things to win the heart of Princess of Iléa.

The end of story gets conquer enough to want to have the second part in our hands and how ends this new selection For me it is very important the end of a book and as I quite liked the end my opinion on the book improved enough when I finished.

In summary The Heir was pleasantly surprised me in spite of leaving behind many important things of principal story but Cass has shown that there were still interesting issues to talk about. With a protagonist who failed me is a book I like it a lot and it is addictive and very easy to read and my valuation for this book is 3/5.

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and if you like this post, share it in your social networks. Thank you so much!

            See you!

Written by: Ana

One thought on “Book Review: The Heir

  1. I love Henri too! He is just so sweet to Eadlyn. And I can’t wait to hear more of what happens to Ahren. He really brings out the best in Eadlyn so I hope they can still be close despite the choices each makes. Looking forward to the next book! Thanks for stopping by my post earlier 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

