Book Review: Thirteen Reasons Why

ThirteenReasonsWhyAuthor: Jay Asher

Pages: 284

Year of publishing: 2007

Rating: ★★✩✩✩

Related posts:  Not yet available

Synopsis: Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker—his classmate and crush—who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

My review: The story begins when a teenager receive a box full of audio tapes sent by a classmate who committed suicide a few weeks before. In this audio tapes, Clay finds the 13 reasons why she decided committing suicide. Through these audio tapes he discovers that twelve persons more will listen the reasons and he doesn’t know why. Clay, the teenager that receive the box, begins to obsess progressively while he listens the tapes.

I liked the idea of meeting the protagonist after she made a decision of committing suicide, however I also have to say that the reasons didn’t convince me entirely. Despite this fact, While I was reading, I always had curiosity to know the next reason after the end of each one. But I think that this was because I hoped a better reason than the previous. I remember a sentence where she say that only wants get the attention to see if anyone stops her, but nobody does it and she thinks that is because nobody love her. I think that this is a very immature decision. Probably I didn’t understand the hints that she made. I know that when you are a teenager, sometimes a grain of sand is a world for you, but her decision is too extremist.

But there is something that I liked in this novel; The descriptions made by the author about the feelings of the characters are fantastic, especially the curiosity of Clay derived from the ignorance about why she gave the audio tapes to him. He didn’t know nothing during all the novel and this allows us to empathize with the character. I would have like know more about the protagonist because maybe I have could understand her reasons better. But with the things that I know about her, She has seemed to me too selfish and coward, A person who wants to provoke feelings to others committing suicide and not when she is still alive is a too selfish person.

I think that the author wants to make us think about how we can influence to other people. However, I need stronger reasons to think about this.

My valuation for this book is 2/5 because as I said, I think that most reasons are hackneyed and some predictable.

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and if you like this post, share it in your social networks. Thank you so much!

See you!

Written by: Ana

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Thirteen Reasons Why

  1. After reading the book I came to the realization that Hannah was someone I couldn’t really sympathize with. She had shallow reasons for committing suicide and in the end she was just a vindictive person. I liked Clay though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

