Book Review: The Name of the Wind

The-name-of-the-windAuthor: Patrick Rothfuss

Pages: 722

Year of publishing: 2009

Rating: ★★★★✩

Related Posts: Not yet available

Synopsis: I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.

You may had heard of me

My review: This is the kind of book that stay in the bookshelves intact since the purchase during months and months until these months turn into years. But why? Because in its hard cover version in Spanish, it has got a length of 872 pages and when you are facing a book with this length, you know that you will have to give up reading other books during some weeks. This is what happened to me with this book. I wanted to read this book, but never found the best moment to do it.

The first question that comes to your mind when you are going to start a book with this length is if it’s worth. So I’m going to start giving an answer to that question, is it worth reading it? Definitely yes, if you like fantasy books set in a medieval world, this book will be one of your favourites.

Our protagonist, Kvothe, is the owner of a decadent tavern in the lost town of Newarre. A distant place in the world where Kvothe found finally his anonymity, a place where Kvothe could escape from the stories and legends that circulated about him.

Cronista, an experienced scribe who tried locate to Kvothe for know his story and demystify some of the things that had been said about him. He arrived to the tavern by chance after have seen the death and be saved by Kvothe. Cronista wanted know the real history about kvothe and he accepted tell him his history but under very restrictive conditions. Cronista was eager to know his history and for that he couldn’t refuse the offer and he began to write what Kvothe was saying to him. A story of injustice, misfortunes, resilience and love. It was not the story of an innkeeper of a remote place of the world. It was the story of “Kvothe the bloodless”, “Kvothe the kingkiller”… “I travelled, loved, lost, trusted and was betrayed”.

The narrated story in the name of the wind contains 92 chapters in total distributed in 872 pages, but if we search great twists in the tale, we can find five clearly defined. It’s a very dynamic book, the story contains constant twists and adventures, it’s not a boring book despite its length. But I must tell you all about my personal opinion and certainly, there are ten chapters that I’ve found monotonous, 50 to 60 to be exact. But the rest of the book is very entertaining.

This book is the first part of a trilogy, so its final is not the final of the story of Kvothe, only a part of it. If you read this book, you will know 872 pages about the story of Kvothe, but you must read the second and third part of this saga if you want know his whole story. Over 1300 pages more. Despite this, the name of the wind has interested to all kind of public.

My valuation for this book is 4/5. I enjoyed reading it but I can’t give 5 because the length is a great problem if you haven’t got much time to read.

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and if you like this post, share it in your social networks. Thank you so much!

See you!

Written by: Josué

Leave a Reply

