Book Review: Where She Went

wswAuthor: Gayle Forman

Pages: 264

Year of publishing: 2011

Rating: ★★★✩✩

Related posts: If I Stay (previous book)

Synopsis: It’s been three years since the devastating accident… three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever. Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Julliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple togetheragain, for one last night.As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future—and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I StayWhere She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

My review: (This post contains spoilers of If I Stay so I recommend you read the previous book first).

In my opinion, If I Stay it’s a love book and not only love to Adam, also family love. However, Where She Went is a book of pain, rage, questions that need answers, and love, but a love that hurts.

By the way! Unlike in If I Stay that is narrated from the point of view of Mia, in Where She Went is narrated by Adam.

To situate us a bit: it had elapsed three years since Mia woke up and she decided doesn’t know nothing more about Adam, who fell into a depression. Until suddenly, one night the fate brings them back together and this causes so many questions to Adam about the decision of Mia.

While I read everything that they spoke that long night, I couldn’t avoid feel hatred towards Mia. Why she did that to him? Not only Adam had needed an answer, I also needed it. The moment when she explain her reasons was a very intense moment, it was the most awaited moment for me. This part of the book didn’t disappoint me.

Adam changed a lot in this second part, in the previous book we can see a boy sure of himself and very extrovert… However in this volume we can see his fears, his insecurities, his defects… He seems much more vulnerable in this second part and this caused me fall in love. Mia didn’t change too much in this book, but I liked her attitude less than in If I Stay, I guess it’s because she did much damage to Adam and he didn’t deserve that.

This story makes you think about your life, about your choices, and how you can deal damage to the rest with your choices and even provoke a change in them. All of us leave a mark in the hearts of the people that we know and in this case the mark was very strong. It’s a story full of pain that seems very realistic, this book shows us that the love is not always easy and is not a fairy tale.

This book is the kind of book that I wish everyone would read because love is not always easy and we must learn to fight for what we want and not wait on the couch while this things simply happen by itself. So if you haven’t read this book yet I recommend you read it because you will reflect on many things.

My score for Where She Went is 3/5 as the previous book because I expected a little more from Mia.

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and to close this review, I give you the chance to vote this book, simply click on the link, choose your valuation and click in the bottom named “Enviar”. (You must be logged before in google+ for validate your vote)

Rate: Where She Went

See you!

Written by Ana.

One thought on “Book Review: Where She Went

Leave a Reply

