Book Review: If I Stay

if i stay

Author: Gayle Forman

Pages: 210

Year of publishing: 2009

Rating: ★★★★✩

Related posts: Where She Went (Second part)

Synopsis: Mia is a very gifted cellist. She has everything she could ever want, a loving family,an adoring boyfriend, an amazing best friend, and an amazing career ahead of her in music. All of that changes suddenly. Mia and her family have a terrible car accident and Mia is rushed to the ICU. Mia is caught between life and death, and watches as family and friends come to visit her at the hospital sheis in. Soon Mia realizes that she must make the most critical decision of her life – wake up to live a life more difficult than she ever could have imagined, or slip away and die.

My review: Mia is a girl of seventeen, is a cellist with a great talent that expected to be accepted in a prestigious school in New York. She has a fun, supportive and nice parents and a brother who worships. She has a boyfriend named Adam and not is the typical relationship of seventeen, this relationship is much prettier than many marriages and I think is quite particular what makes Adam to get a date with her.

Although as you know, one morning everything is twisted and Mia just on a bed in a deep coma grade 8. She must decide in 24h between stay here or leave. Throughout those 24 long hours she remember very significant scenes from her life, and for me, some of this scenes were very exciting. The book has poignant moments, you will smile on a page and the next perhaps can make you cry. It’s a beautiful and sad story equally.

Unlike other reviews I read before deciding to read this book, my favorite scenes are no scenes with Adam, are the scenes with her grandfather. Her grandfather understood that it is she who is deciding whether to stay or not and that decision belongs only to her and that’s a relief for Mia who can hear everything that happens around her. Though no one can see her, she wander the corridors of the hospital while decides what to do

In this book there is one thing that surprised me and is that Mia isn’t the typical ghost that can go through walls and which can go from one side to the other when she want. Here Mia is a normal but invisible person, which can turn the doorknobs or press the elevator buttons.

This book is very different from other books I read me lately and is a book that I recommend 100%. Almost all the books of youth category try make us believe that love is above everything and nothing else matters, everything must forgive for love, the love of your life is just around the corner and a glance is enough to fall in love and no, this it’s not true and this book teach us this leason. The life can be complicated and to conquer someone you need have details with that person, no matter how small and seemingly stupid they are. In If I Stay the author tells you a story of an ordinary girl which is conquered with a lovely detail and coming from someone as Adam, also it shows you her family life, the life with her friends etc. So it’s a book that everyone should read and specially everyone who think that love is created with a single glance, without effort.

Very soon I will read the second part of the book and see the movie, and of course I will publish my opinion. My score is 4/5 because I prefer to give 5 when I read both books.

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and if you like this post, share it in your social networks. Thank you so much!

I see you!

Written by: Ana.

One thought on “Book Review: If I Stay

  1. I wasn’t too much of a fan of this. If I Stay was moving at parts but a little too simple of a story for me. I really liked that you mentioned the grandfather scenes in your review, I do remember that I enjoyed those moments more than the ones with Adam as well. I haven’t read Where She Went, so I’m hoping that’ll be better for me. 🙂 And great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

