Book Review: Look Who’s Back

9780857052926Author: Timur Vermes

Pages: 375

Year of publishing: 2012

Rating: ★★★✩✩

Related Posts: Not yet availabe

Synopsis: Summer 2011. Berlin. Adolf Hitler wakes up on a patch of ground, alive and well. Things have changed – no Eva Braun, no Nazi party, no war, Hitler barely recognises his beloved Fatherland, filled with immigrants and run by a woman. People certainly recognise him, though – as a brilliant, satirical impersonator who refuses to breack character. The unthinkable, the inevitable, happens, and the ranting Hitler takes off, goes viral, becomes a YouTube star, gets his own TV show, becomes someone who people listen to. All while he’s still trying to convince people that yes, it really is him, and yes, he really means it.

Look Who’s Back is a black and brilliant satire of modern media-bloated society, seen though the eyes of the Führer himself. Adolf is by turns repellent, sympathetic and hilarious, but always fascinating. Look Who’s Back is outrageously clever, outrageously funny – and outrageously plausible.

My review: Look Who’s Back has that innovative idea that I always want to find in books. In this case, the innovative idea is given as a question that the reader makes himself when he read the back of the book, this question is: “What would happen if Hitler woke up in a waste ground of Germany in 2011? This question next to the pressure of my friends, finally convinced me to buy this book.

First of all, I must stress that this book is not for all audiences (as any satire). The humor used in this book is sometimes an acid humor and this has caused that some people have made negative reviews, and others have supported this book and they have it in their bookshelf as one of their favourites. In my particular case, I think this book is certainly funny despite having the acid humor that I mentioned. You should know that the author made this book to ridicule Hitler and not to make fun of the situation that lived the Germany who was persecuted during those years

As I did in my review of the book thief, I thought about what’s the most relevant in this book and I haven’t had too much doubts. I think that the most relevant of this book is the approach that the author makes in the beginning thereof and definitely, the end that he gave. An end that doesn’t let you close the book, place it on the bookshelf and that’s all. Is an end that compel to you to think about it for 5 or 10 minutes at least.

Look Who’s Back also teach us some things about the history of Germany that surely the majority of the readers didn’t know, It’s not a class of History, this is a humor book from start to finish. But, into this humor, Timur Vermes include some historical data that is always good to know . Also, he try portray the modern German society in his book, a society full of contradictions, selfish, and lover of the unproductive Entertainment.

But now we get to the negative part of the book. I stress two main things:

In Look Who’s Back exists a line that separate the begin of the rest of the book. from the page 90 (approximately) Timur Vermes doesn’t focus his argument on tell to us how Hitler faces a completely different society, but he starts to focus increasingly in politics. In some chapters, Timur Vermes focus all his argument in this theme, losing the initial freshness of the book.

also, I must say that this book is a bit repetitive. This is the second drawback. The used humor sometimes get to limits wich the reader beggin to get bored. Some parts of the book could have been deleted because only ocuppy pages but this pages appear unrelated to the plot. But talking about the repetitive humor that this book contains and at the risk of contradicting me, I must say that the flashbacks to the past, despite including some curious things, get to be excessive repetitive. The book contains too much flashbacks to the past and sometimes the reader has got the feeling that he has read the same before. considering this, Look Who’s Back get to results bored and personally I closed the book on more than one occasion because I felt that I was reading the same again. It was like having a boring friend that always is telling anecdotes. On the other hand, I must say in favor the author that Hitler surely would spend the whole day telling his stories if he return.

Personally I think that this is not a bad book, but I think that is a bit overrated too. Is a best-Seller. In Germany were sold 1.5 million copies and after was translated to more than 20 languages. If this were just any book I would have felt satisfied because I wouldn’t expect a book with a 5/5 valuation, but is a Best-seller and I expect more from a Best-Seller. My valuation for this book is 3/5.

What’s your valuation for this book? I hope your opinion in the comments box and if you like this post, share it in your social networks. Thank you so much!

See you!

Written by: Josué

Leave a Reply

